Cim's Lair

Talking about Books 1

There are a lot of days I think I don’t read at all. Then I look at my shelf and see I've read more in the past year or so than I have since I was a child, and I’d like to talk about a few of the books I’ve really enjoyed recently as of a little more than halfway through 2024.

Dune

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past, I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain."

If you haven’t done yourself the service of reading Dune, you really should. Such an incredible world to get absolutely lost in. I love stuff like Warhammer 40k, and to see that it's basically Dune really made me love Dune even more and fall into that world entirely.

Highly recommend, worth every second of your time.

House of Leaves

"You’ll watch yourself dismantle every assurance you ever lived by."

I haven’t finished this one yet, but I’m about halfway through and damn. This is a hard book for me to read, but I am absolutely enthralled by the story and the story within a story. Absolutely amazing cosmic horror. 100% recommend.

Killers of the Flower Moon

"In late 1925, the local priest received a secret message from Mollie. Her life, she said, was in danger. An agent from the Office of Indian Affairs soon picked up another report: Mollie wasn’t dying of diabetes at all; she, too, was being poisoned."

A real story, told very well by author David Grann. I’m glad I took the time to read instead of just watching the movie, as I feel like it gave a much better perspective on the events happening. Just seeing how evil the plan was from the beginning is crazy to watch unfold with each death that takes place. Worth a read, but since it’s real and not fiction, I’m gonna leave a warning and say if you’re averse to true crime or death, then I’d steer clear. Lots of great archival photos and a fun ride from start to finish. David Grann is a fantastic author.