Cim's Lair

Thinking about Linux

Really been thinking about swapping to Linux on my main desktop setup. Most of my gaming since the end of 2022 has been on the Steam Deck, that thing is probably like 1k+ hours played on it by now. I've played and beaten so much now at this point.

I really like the OS I just with there was an easy way to get SteamOS up and running as easily as something like Mint or Ubuntu. Ill figure it out, probably better to dual boot anyway.

I have some experience with Linux and a lot of that comes from when I was younger and wanted to play Minecraft and saw that on my terrible PC at the time, if I installed Ubuntu I could get a more solid Frame Rate. Seriously though I have absolutely no clue how I managed to do that in 2011, I tried recently with Ubuntu and had so many issues I gave up entirely until the steam deck showed me how its supposed to work for the user.

Honestly the only thing stopping me from using something like MINT or SteamOS is just support for gaming but that's all gotten so much better lately. Just need some of these damn anti cheat developers to catch up to the fact people aren't all using windows still. anyways...